The Task Force on Socially and Environmentally Responsible Investing

September 14, 2015

Task Force Publishes Bearing Witness: Report of the Task Force on Socially and Environmentally Responsible Investing’

Bearing Witness: Report
of the Task Force on Socially
and Environmentally Responsible Investing
Download 668.22 KB
2014 Socially Responsible Investing Resolution Pdf
Download 263.38 KB

    At the 237th Diocesan Convention (2013), a resolution was passed asking the Bishop, in consultation with the Committee on the Environment and the Diocesan Investment Trust, to appoint a task force to study the merits of socially and environmentally responsible investing for the diocese.

    The task force made an interim report to the Diocesan Convention of 2014, and presented its recommendations, in the form of the report and resolution made available here (see links above) to the Diocesan Convention of 2015.


    Paul R. Ainslie   
    Vice President, Christian Brothers Investment Services; former President of the Board of Trustees of the Diocesan Investment Trust.
    Parish: St. Paul’s Church, Staten Island

    Christopher Ashley  
    Graduate student, Union Theological Seminary; delegate to 2013 Diocesan Convention.
    Parish: St. Michael’s Church, Manhattan

    The Rev. Chase Danford

    Assistant Rector, Grace Church, Manhattan; member Executive Council Corporate Social Responsibility Committee

    Wolcott B. Dunham   
    Of Counsel, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP; Trustee of the Diocese; Board Chair, Union Theological Seminary; Senior Warden, St. James’, Manhattan

    The Rev. Canon Jeffrey Golliher  
    Vicar, St. John’s Church, Ellenville; Program Director, Environment & Sustainable Communities, Anglican Communion Office at the UN; chair, Diocesan Committee on the Environment

    Susan Jansen 
    Investment professional, Sage Capital Group; member of the Diocesan Investment Committee; former Treasurer and member of the Board of Directors, Episcopal Charities of the Diocese of New York.
    Parish: Christ’s Church, Rye

    W. B. McKeown, chair

    Retired General Counsel, Wildlife Conservation Society; member of Executive Council Committee on Corporate Social Responsibility and Executive Council Economic Justice Loan Committee.
    Parish: The Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine

    The Rev. Yejide Peters 
    Rector, All Saints’ Church, Briarcliff Manor; member of the Diocesan Committee to Elect a Suffragan; member of the Executive Council Committee on the Status of Women

    George Thurston, ScD   
    Professor, Population Health and Environmental Medicine, New York University School of Medicine.
    Parish: St. Mary’s Church, Tuxedo Park

    The Rev. Winnie Varghese   
    Priest and Director of Community Outreach, Trinity Wall Street; Chair, Diocesan Commission on Social Concerns; Deputy to General Convention 2015

    Sister Faith Margaret, CHS  
    Diocesan Treasurer

    Canon Michael McPherson             
    Diocesan Chief of Finance and Operations

    George Wade 
    Of Counsel, Shearman & Sterling LLP; Diocesan Chancellor