The Episcopal Diocese
of New York

1047 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10025
Tel: (212) 316-7400

The Diocese

The Episcopal Diocese of New York encompasses 192 worshipping communities in the boroughs of Manhattan, the Bronx, and Staten Island in New York City; and the New York counties of Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, and Westchester. The Diocese has approximately 50,000 members.

As Bishop Diocesan, Bishop Dietsche has oversight of around 500 canonically resident priests, 60 priests who are licensed to officiate in this diocese, 70 deacons, and 35 lay and ordained staff members.

Far flung

Extending from Tottenville, Staten Island, in the south, well over 100 miles to rural Callicoon, Sullivan County, in the northwest, the diocese covers the 4,739 urban, suburban and rural square miles in ten of the state’s southeastern counties: New York City’s boroughs of Manhattan, the Bronx and Staten Island; and Westchester, Rockland, Putnam, Dutchess, Orange, Ulster and Sullivan. Within these boundaries, the Diocese beyond New York City is divided into two regions—Region II and the Mid-Hudson Region—and is divided throughout into 21 geographical deaneries, each of which is called a “Clericus.”

Culturally diverse

The members of our far-flung diocese’s congregations represent the entire spectrum of the diverse local population, regularly holding services in 12 languages: Akan, American Sign Language, Bontoc, Chinese, Creole, English, French, Igbo, Japanese, Korean, Malayalam and Spanish.

Part of a wider community

New York is one of more than 100 dioceses in the 1.6 million member U.S.-wide Episcopal Church, which is itself a constituent member of the approximately 77 million member worldwide Anglican Communion.