Select Page
The Episcopal Diocese
of New York

1047 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10025
Tel: (212) 316-7400

Our Bishops


Bishop Dietsche

The Rt. Rev. Andrew M.L. Dietsche, Bishop of New York

The Rt. Rev. Allen K. Shin, Bishop Suffragan

The Rt. Rev. Allen K. Shin, Bishop Suffragan

Bishop Glasspool portrait

The Rt. Rev. Mary D. Glasspool, Bishop Assistant


The Episcopal Church takes its name from the Greek word episcopos, meaning overseer or governor.

Theologically, Bishops are considered to be successors to the Apostles. Bishops, therefore, have the two-fold responsibility for the apostolic mission of the Church and for the oversight of that mission within a given geographic area, the Diocese.

The bishops, who in the Episcopal Church (unlike elsewhere in the Anglican Communion) are elected by the clergy and laity of the Diocese, are members of the House of Bishops of the Episcopal Church in the United States of America. Bishops confer Holy Orders upon deacons, priests, and other bishops, and administer the rite of Confirmation in addition to the usual priestly services. They visit the congregations, meet with the clergy, administer Confirmation, and preach the Word.

Find out more about the Bishops of the Episcopal Diocese of New York – Bishop Andrew M.L. Dietsche, Bishop Suffragan Allen K. Shin and Bishop Assistant Mary D. Glasspool by clicking on their names or by using the links on the left.


Bishop's Office Contacts

The Rt. Rev. Matthew F. Heyd
Bishop of New York

Office: 212-316-7413

The Rt. Rev. Allen K. Shin
Bishop Suffragan

Office: 212-316-7465
Fax: 212-316-7405

The Rt. Rev. Mary D. Glasspool
Bishop Assistant

Office: 212-316-7442

Ms. Michelle Chang
Executive Assistant to the Bishop Suffragan and the Assistant Bishop

Office: 212-316-7484
Fax: 212-316-7405

Ms. Arlene Bullard
Bishop Dietsche’s Assistant for Special Projects & Assistant to the Canon to the Ordinary

Office: 212-316-7413
Fax: 212-932-7318

Mr. Nicholas Gordon
Director of Special Projects

Office: 212-316-7363