Select Page
The Episcopal Diocese
of New York

1047 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10025
Tel: (212) 316-7400

Communications Contacts

Mr. Nicholas Richardson
Director of Communications, Editor, Episcopal New Yorker

Office: 212-316-7520
Fax: 212-932-7323

Mr. Andrew Gary
Assistant to the Chief of Finance and Operations, Communications & Editorial Assistant

Office: 212-932-7322
Fax: 212-932-7323

Election of a Bishop Coadjutor:
Introducing the
Committee for the Election of a Bishop

Following the call by Bishop Dietsche at the Diocesan Convention last November for the election of a bishop coadjutor to take place on Saturday, December 3, 2022 at the Cathedral Church of Saint John the Divine, and in accordance with Canon 13 of the Diocesan Canons ( – see page 9), a Committee for the Election of a Bishop has been formed, “consisting of (a) three appointments, one of whom must be clerical and two of whom must be lay members appointed by the Ecclesiastical Authority, (b) one clerical member and one lay member appointed by the Standing Committee, (c) two clerical members appointed by the Council of the Diocese, (d) one clerical member and one lay member elected each year by the Convention.”

The members of the committee are as follows:

The Rev. Trevor Babb
Christ Church, Staten Island

The Rev. Mary Barber
St. George’s, Newburgh
St. Paul’s, Poughkeepsie

The Rev. Theodora (Teddy) Brooks
St. Margaret’s, The Bronx

De Young Chan
Episcopal Church of Our Savior, Manhattan

Nick Gordon
St. John’s in the Village, Manhattan

The Very Rev. Michelle Meech
St. John’s, Kingston

Yvonne O’Neal
Church of the Holy Trinity, Manhattan

Alice Yurke
Chancellor of the Diocese
St. Bartholomew’s, Manhattan

The Rev. John Zahl
St. Matthew’s, Bedford

The committee has begun its work and will shortly publish a timeline for the upcoming months.